Breakup Tip #33

Hindsight is 20/20…

Have you ever been in a relationship that you thought at the time was pretty good. When others tried to question it you merely blew them off because obviously they had no idea what they were talking about. Well, I’m here to tell you that we have all been there. Stuck in a relationship we think is going well (at least we tell ourselves it is) only to realize when it’s over that it wasn’t so wonderful after all. After taking a sobering step back we can finally see the relationship for what it truly is…a mess.

As my friends and I often joke, I like to wonder what we were possibly smoking during that time (just kidding), but in reality how could we let someone treat us like that and be ok with it? That my friend is the real question here. I would like to say that we were under the influence of love and with such a powerful emotion we couldn’t possibly see the light of day. Right? Well, maybe not…

You see, when you friends and family are telling you that this isn’t the right guy for you, maybe you should listen up. Throughout my relationships I like to keep a little journal of insights of how I feel in that moment, sweet memories and even sad ones but ultimately when I look back on those I can see how the relationship truly made me feel.

Don’t you wish you had a crystal ball that could look to the future and tell you whether or not you should spend your valuable time with this person? After all your time is important and why waste it on some guy who doesn’t picture a life with you. My advice, if your friends and family are waving red flags, try to listen to them but also try and take a step back and see the relationship you have for what it is. If you are truly happy, great! If not, try and figure out why, it may be time to move on.

Love,

Miss Behaving xox

1 Comment

Filed under Breakup tips, Breakups, ex-boyfriend, Friends, love, self-worth, Survival, timing

One response to “Breakup Tip #33

  1. Pingback: Relationship Advice from the People Closest to You « Lied 2 Girl

Leave a Reply

