Breakup Tip #14

You’re stuck…(not physically but mentally)

You have reached a crossroads in your relationship and although you seem to know in your heart of hearts that sticking around my cause you more heartache, you can’t seem to let go of this guy. I’ve been there, in fact, I find it extremely hard to break off a relationship, because no matter how miserable I am, I would like to be able to fix it.

I AM WRONG (I can admit that now)

When your friends casually hint that this guy might not be the right one for you, or your mother drops the hint that she isn’t sure he is “the right guy.” My advice to you, ladies, is to listen and listen well. I cannot tell you how many times I wished I had listened to my friends and family when they warned me about my past relationships.

The funny thing is, I could see it, if I was totally honest I knew deep down that this guy was not the guy for me and no matter how hard I worked to try and “fix” the relationship, it wouldn’t matter because I would still come out with the same conclusion, he is not the RIGHT guy.

You see, many of us believe that if we could just help the guy fix this thing, or that thing, we could have the man we really want, but what we don’t realize is that we shouldn’t have to change him at all. The right guy won’t be perfect (far from it), but we should be able to accept him, flaws and all.

If the relationship isn’t working and you find yourself in the “stuck” position, maybe it’s time to rethink your journey together and let him hit the road because ultimately, if you know this guy isn’t the one, why hold yourself back from the one who is? You are only causing yourself more heartache and it’s not necessary.

Trust me, this isn’t an easy decision and I don’t envy anyone who has to make it, but it is the wise one and although it may cause you and him pain, in the long run you will be glad you pulled the plug. So, for all my girls out there who are sitting on the sidelines not sure whether or not to make a move, it’s time. Just free yourself from this down spiraling relationship, you may be surprised how much better you feel (I often refer to this as the weight of my shoulders feeling and trust me, it’s a good feeling).

I want you to be happy and you can be, but sometimes that means going at it alone for a while.

Good luck, ladies, you can do this!

Love,
Miss Behaving xox

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakup tips, Breakups, ex-boyfriend, love, Survival

Leave a Reply

