Breakup Tip #12

Take a break…no, I don’t mean a 5 minute walk around the block, I mean a literal dating break.

It’s funny to me that when I am not in a relationship I feel a lot more free and happy. I think the built up hopes and fears of a relationship tend to stress me out. You know the feeling, one minute you’re on top of the world and the next you are wishing the ground would swallow you up. It’s not easy trying to make another person happy, heck…it’s not easy making yourself happy all the time!

I recently vowed to take a strict break from dating for at least 6 months and I can honestly say I feel totally at peace with it. I don’t have that horrible voice in the back of my head saying, “but, you’re getting old, the clock is ticking” or the “you need to find someone, you don’t want to end up alone.” Nope, I’ve kicked those little voices to the curb because I am finally happy just being me, free and single.

I have realized after many good and bad relationships that I don’t need another person to make me happy, what really makes me happy is doing the things I love. You see, I am the kind of person who will literally bend over backwards to make their significant other happy and at times it means I have to sacrifice my own happiness. I don’t want to be this girl anymore. I quit (this is my formal notice of resignation from dating) and I am genuinely content with my decision.

So, ladies this is my advice for you. Your relationship is over but that doesn’t mean your life is, you don’t need another person to make you happy. Why not take some time (however long that may be) and give yourself a dating break, if the right guy comes along great, if not, it’s OK. Don’t stress about it, just give yourself a nice little dating vacation.

You’re a free single lady now, enjoy it!

Love,
Miss Behaving

1 Comment

Filed under Breakup tips, Breakups, ex-boyfriend, Friends, Survival

One response to “Breakup Tip #12

  1. It’s when you effectively “give in and give up” that you end up meeting the love of your life… 😉

Leave a Reply

